Adolescent and Adult Sexual Assault Assessment by Diana K. Faugno, Stacey A. Mitchell, et al
2nd edition - This edition allows readers the opportunity to analyze 15 case histories of sexual assault with accompanying photographs of the patients' physical examinations. Self-directed exercises will guide readers through the process of identifying documented injuries and developing a plan of action for evidence collection and subsequent medical care unique to each case.
Publication Date: 2018
Child Maltreatment Assessment, Volume 1: Physical Signs of Abuse by Debra Esernio-Jenssen, Ruchita Doshi, et al
The first volume of STM Learning's Child Maltreatment Assessment series focuses on supplying readers with the skills to identify and respond to the physical signs of abuse in children. Featuring several case studies and full-color images, this workbook serves to help professionals in a variety of fields evaluate different types of injuries, better preparing them to accurately differentiate signs of abuse from their mimics. Chapters also discuss topics such as identifying burns and recognizing the symptoms of poisoning.After reviewing each chapter, readers will have the opportunity to apply their newfound knowledge by completing an assessment at the end of the book. Each volume of Child Maltreatment Assessment includes a comprehensive test section, making this series ideal for both self-study and classroom settings. Additionally, a supplemental photographic atlas at the end of the book features an additional 80 high-resolution images depicting abusive injuries, mimics, and more.
Publication Date: 2022
Child Maltreatment Assessment, Volume 2: Sexual, Emotional, and Psychological Abuse by Debra Esernio-Jenssen, Ruchita Doshi, et al
The second volume of STM Learning's Child Maltreatment Assessment series focuses on supplying readers with the skills to identify and respond to sexual, emotional, and psychological abuse in children. Chapters discuss subjects such as sexually transmitted infections, torture, and treatment methods. With its inclusion of case studies and full-color images, this workbook serves to help professionals in a variety of fields prepare for encountering these types of abuse in the field.After reviewing each chapter, readers will have the opportunity to apply their newfound knowledge by completing an assessment at the end of the book. Each volume of Child Maltreatment Assessment includes a comprehensive test section, making this series ideal for both self-study and classroom settings. Additionally, a supplemental photographic atlas at the end of the book features 80 high-resolution images depicting abusive injuries, mimics, and more.
Publication Date: 2022
Child Maltreatment Assessment, Volume 3: Investigation, Care and Prevention by Debra Esernio-Jenssen, Ruchita Doshi, et al
The third volume of STM Learning's Child Maltreatment Assessment series focuses on supplying readers with the necessary skills for the investigation, care, and prevention of abuse in children. This volume guides readers on testifying in abuse cases, explains the child fatality review process, and discusses mental health treatment for survivors. Ultimately, this workbook serves to prepare professionals from a variety of fields for working with victims of maltreatment.After reviewing each chapter, readers will have the opportunity to apply their newfound knowledge by completing an assessment at the end of the book. Each volume of Child Maltreatment Assessment includes a comprehensive test section, making this series ideal for both self-study and classroom settings. Additionally, a supplemental photographic atlas at the end of the book will feature 80 high-resolution images depicting abusive injuries, mimics, and more.
Publication Date: 2000
Fast Facts about Forensic Nursing by Meredith Scannell
This up-to-date, evidence-based resource addresses all facets of forensics nursing, including legal and ethical issues, conducting interviews, trauma-informed care, delivering expert testimony, documenting injuries, and collecting and preserving evidentiary substances for Medico-Legal purposes.
Publication Date: 2019
Forensic Nursing : Scope and Standards of Practice by American Nurses Association
2nd edition - Working at the intersections of multiple health and legal systems, the forensic nurse practices nationally and globally, providing specialized nursing care and treatment, which focuses on those affected by violence and trauma, be they individuals, families, communities, or populations.
Publication Date: 2017
Forensic Nursing Science by Virginia Lynch
2nd edition - This new edition provides the tools and concepts you need to collect evidence that is admissible in court, determine the significance of that evidence, and provide accurate, reliable testimony while administering high-quality patient care. Retains a focus on assessment skills and the collection and preservation of evidence, following the established guidelines of the forensic sciences.
Publication Date: 2011
IAFN Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE-A (R)/SANE-P (R)) Certification Review by Jacqueline Callari Robinson
2nd edition - This edition is designed to help you prepare for the Commission for Forensic Nursing Certification (CFNC) exam for either the adult and adolescent (SANE-A®) or the pediatric and adolescent patient (SANE-P®) population. This comprehensive study aid has been updated to include the latest STI treatment guidelines and improve gender inclusivity. Chapters address the different considerations for working with prepubescent, adolescent, adult, and elder assault and abuse victims. Case studies, key points, nursing pearls, photographs, illustrations, and tables are included throughout. Each chapter covers information required to pass the exam and includes end-of-chapter questions to check your knowledge.
Publication Date: 2022
Introduction to Forensic Nursing: Principles and Practice by Diana Faugno, Stacey Mitchell, et al
Introduction to Forensic Nursing: Principles and Practice is an extensive reference that aims to provide both current and potential forensic nurses with a fundamental understanding of the opportunities that the field offers. With over 40 chapters in total, this book explores the various duties that forensic nurses may be responsible for in hospitals, in partnership with law enforcement and the military, and in different community settings. Featured throughout the text are dozens of descriptive case studies that showcase the forensic nurse's role within these various settings and the populations they serve. Readers will have the opportunity to assess their understanding of forensic nursing and its varied applications by using the accompanying practice assessment included in the back of the book.
Publication Date: 2022
Manual Nonfatal Strangulation Assessment by Diana Faugno, Angelia Trujillo, et al
This book is designed to standardize anatomic nomenclature, as it relates to the head and neck, for both new and experienced sexual assault nurse examiners (SANEs) and sexual assault forensic examiners (SAFEs), first responders, medical residents and physicians, nursing students, and nurse practitioners, including nurse midwives, women's health nurse practitioners, pediatric nurse practitioners, and forensic nurse practitioners.
Publication Date: 2017
Medical Response to Adult Sexual Assault by Linda E. Ledrey, Ann W. Burgess
2nd edition - This resource provides evidence-based research on diagnosis, treatment, and examination in cases of sexual violence and assault. Survivors of sexual assault face any number of unique challenges both on the path to physical and psychological recovery and in navigating the investigative and judicial processes related to their traumatic experiences. Medical practitioners who work with these survivors require informed expertise in order to support their patients' safety and personal well-being.
Publication Date: 2019
Medical Response to Child Sexual Abuse by Randell Alexander, Nancy Sanders Harper
2nd edition - This resource is specifically developed to equip physicians, nurses, and other medical professionals with the necessary tools to identify cases of child sexual abuse. Professionals who work with sexually abused children face a great challenge in not only treating the immediate outcomes of sexual abuse but also safeguarding their patients' long-term recovery. To meet their needs and the needs of those in their care, this resource offers a wealth of evidence-based research and practical guidelines to the evaluation of childhood sexual abuse.
Publication Date: 2019
Nursing Approach to the Evaluation of Child Maltreatment by Paul Thomas Clements, Ann Burgess, et al
2nd edition - This edition provides updated guidelines on identifying signs of abuse and neglect in children. Specifically tailored to professionals in the nursing field, each chapter includes treatment plans for the many different types of maltreatment. The text also features useful tools such as checklists and easy-to-reference examination guidelines.This title covers a wide range of topics, ranging from the effects of domestic violence on children to how children can become victimized online. Chapters also discuss legal issues related to maltreatment, procedural guidelines for medical contact with victims, and more. This authoritative reference is a must-have for forensic nurses, nurse practitioners, and other professionals who may encounter child abuse in the clinical setting.
Publication Date: 2015
Sexually Transmitted Infection and Disease Assessment by Melanie Gibbons Hallman, Patricia M. Speck, et al
The Sexually Transmitted Infections and Sexually Transmitted Diseases workbook is a self-directed assessment for medical professionals to learn, apply, and demonstrate competency in the evaluation for sexually transmitted infections and diseases. Readers will have the opportunity to assess case histories and accompanying full-color photographs for reference. Each case history includes a series of evaluation exercises designed to refine and reinforce readers' skills in sexually transmitted infection identification, treatment recommendation, and follow-up care.
Publication Date: 2020
Violence Against Women by Paul Clements, Jennifer Pierce-Weeks, et al
Violence Against Women examines a wide range of relationships that may be affected by intimate partner violence and takes a culturally sensitive, international approach to issues underpinning family violence, dating violence, and the injuries children suffer when their caregivers perpetrate violence. This text offers insight into a variety of subjects affecting women domestically and internationally.
Publication Date: 2015
Adolescent and Adult Sexual Assault Assessment by
2nd edition - This edition allows readers the opportunity to analyze 15 case histories of sexual assault with accompanying photographs of the patients' physical examinations. Self-directed exercises will guide readers through the process of identifying documented injuries and developing a plan of action for evidence collection and subsequent medical care unique to each case.
Child Maltreatment Assessment, Volume 1: Physical Signs of Abuse by
The first volume of STM Learning's Child Maltreatment Assessment series focuses on supplying readers with the skills to identify and respond to the physical signs of abuse in children. Featuring several case studies and full-color images, this workbook serves to help professionals in a variety of fields evaluate different types of injuries, better preparing them to accurately differentiate signs of abuse from their mimics. Chapters also discuss topics such as identifying burns and recognizing the symptoms of poisoning.After reviewing each chapter, readers will have the opportunity to apply their newfound knowledge by completing an assessment at the end of the book. Each volume of Child Maltreatment Assessment includes a comprehensive test section, making this series ideal for both self-study and classroom settings. Additionally, a supplemental photographic atlas at the end of the book features an additional 80 high-resolution images depicting abusive injuries, mimics, and more.
Child Maltreatment Assessment, Volume 2: Sexual, Emotional, and Psychological Abuse by
The second volume of STM Learning's Child Maltreatment Assessment series focuses on supplying readers with the skills to identify and respond to sexual, emotional, and psychological abuse in children. Chapters discuss subjects such as sexually transmitted infections, torture, and treatment methods. With its inclusion of case studies and full-color images, this workbook serves to help professionals in a variety of fields prepare for encountering these types of abuse in the field.After reviewing each chapter, readers will have the opportunity to apply their newfound knowledge by completing an assessment at the end of the book. Each volume of Child Maltreatment Assessment includes a comprehensive test section, making this series ideal for both self-study and classroom settings. Additionally, a supplemental photographic atlas at the end of the book features 80 high-resolution images depicting abusive injuries, mimics, and more.
Child Maltreatment Assessment, Volume 3: Investigation, Care and Prevention by
The third volume of STM Learning's Child Maltreatment Assessment series focuses on supplying readers with the necessary skills for the investigation, care, and prevention of abuse in children. This volume guides readers on testifying in abuse cases, explains the child fatality review process, and discusses mental health treatment for survivors. Ultimately, this workbook serves to prepare professionals from a variety of fields for working with victims of maltreatment.After reviewing each chapter, readers will have the opportunity to apply their newfound knowledge by completing an assessment at the end of the book. Each volume of Child Maltreatment Assessment includes a comprehensive test section, making this series ideal for both self-study and classroom settings. Additionally, a supplemental photographic atlas at the end of the book will feature 80 high-resolution images depicting abusive injuries, mimics, and more.
Fast Facts about Forensic Nursing by
This up-to-date, evidence-based resource addresses all facets of forensics nursing, including legal and ethical issues, conducting interviews, trauma-informed care, delivering expert testimony, documenting injuries, and collecting and preserving evidentiary substances for Medico-Legal purposes.
Forensic Nursing : Scope and Standards of Practice by
2nd edition - Working at the intersections of multiple health and legal systems, the forensic nurse practices nationally and globally, providing specialized nursing care and treatment, which focuses on those affected by violence and trauma, be they individuals, families, communities, or populations.
Forensic Nursing Science by
2nd edition - This new edition provides the tools and concepts you need to collect evidence that is admissible in court, determine the significance of that evidence, and provide accurate, reliable testimony while administering high-quality patient care. Retains a focus on assessment skills and the collection and preservation of evidence, following the established guidelines of the forensic sciences.
IAFN Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE-A (R)/SANE-P (R)) Certification Review by
2nd edition - This edition is designed to help you prepare for the Commission for Forensic Nursing Certification (CFNC) exam for either the adult and adolescent (SANE-A®) or the pediatric and adolescent patient (SANE-P®) population. This comprehensive study aid has been updated to include the latest STI treatment guidelines and improve gender inclusivity. Chapters address the different considerations for working with prepubescent, adolescent, adult, and elder assault and abuse victims. Case studies, key points, nursing pearls, photographs, illustrations, and tables are included throughout. Each chapter covers information required to pass the exam and includes end-of-chapter questions to check your knowledge.
Introduction to Forensic Nursing: Principles and Practice by
Introduction to Forensic Nursing: Principles and Practice is an extensive reference that aims to provide both current and potential forensic nurses with a fundamental understanding of the opportunities that the field offers. With over 40 chapters in total, this book explores the various duties that forensic nurses may be responsible for in hospitals, in partnership with law enforcement and the military, and in different community settings. Featured throughout the text are dozens of descriptive case studies that showcase the forensic nurse's role within these various settings and the populations they serve. Readers will have the opportunity to assess their understanding of forensic nursing and its varied applications by using the accompanying practice assessment included in the back of the book.
Manual Nonfatal Strangulation Assessment by
This book is designed to standardize anatomic nomenclature, as it relates to the head and neck, for both new and experienced sexual assault nurse examiners (SANEs) and sexual assault forensic examiners (SAFEs), first responders, medical residents and physicians, nursing students, and nurse practitioners, including nurse midwives, women's health nurse practitioners, pediatric nurse practitioners, and forensic nurse practitioners.
Medical Response to Adult Sexual Assault by
2nd edition - This resource provides evidence-based research on diagnosis, treatment, and examination in cases of sexual violence and assault. Survivors of sexual assault face any number of unique challenges both on the path to physical and psychological recovery and in navigating the investigative and judicial processes related to their traumatic experiences. Medical practitioners who work with these survivors require informed expertise in order to support their patients' safety and personal well-being.
Medical Response to Child Sexual Abuse by
2nd edition - This resource is specifically developed to equip physicians, nurses, and other medical professionals with the necessary tools to identify cases of child sexual abuse. Professionals who work with sexually abused children face a great challenge in not only treating the immediate outcomes of sexual abuse but also safeguarding their patients' long-term recovery. To meet their needs and the needs of those in their care, this resource offers a wealth of evidence-based research and practical guidelines to the evaluation of childhood sexual abuse.
Nursing Approach to the Evaluation of Child Maltreatment by
2nd edition - This edition provides updated guidelines on identifying signs of abuse and neglect in children. Specifically tailored to professionals in the nursing field, each chapter includes treatment plans for the many different types of maltreatment. The text also features useful tools such as checklists and easy-to-reference examination guidelines.This title covers a wide range of topics, ranging from the effects of domestic violence on children to how children can become victimized online. Chapters also discuss legal issues related to maltreatment, procedural guidelines for medical contact with victims, and more. This authoritative reference is a must-have for forensic nurses, nurse practitioners, and other professionals who may encounter child abuse in the clinical setting.
Sexual Assault Victimization Across the Life Span, Volume 1: Investigation, Diagnosis, and the Multidisciplinary Team by
2nd edition - This first volume serves as a complete guide for multidisciplinary team members involved in the investigation of sexual assault. It includes comprehensive medical guides for the diagnosis and treatment of assaultive trauma; legal guides to investigation and prosecution; and guidelines for the role of first responders in cases of sexual assault, including EMS and law enforcement professionals.
Sexual Assault Victimization Across the Life Span, Volume 2; Evaluation of Children and Adults by
2nd edition - This second volume focuses on the particular needs of sexual assault survivors in various age groups, including chapters on child sexual abuse and sexual violence against adolescents, adults, and the elderly.
Sexual Assault Victimization Across the Life Span, Volume 3: Special Settings and Survivor Populations by
2nd edition - Sexual assault responders working among, or associated with, assault survivors in assisted living homes, academic institutions, correctional facilities, and more will benefit from an uncommonly focused and precise study of the populations they serve. This third and final volume will make an ideal visual reference and instructional guide for professionals working with assault survivors in special populations.
Sexually Transmitted Infection and Disease Assessment by
The Sexually Transmitted Infections and Sexually Transmitted Diseases workbook is a self-directed assessment for medical professionals to learn, apply, and demonstrate competency in the evaluation for sexually transmitted infections and diseases. Readers will have the opportunity to assess case histories and accompanying full-color photographs for reference. Each case history includes a series of evaluation exercises designed to refine and reinforce readers' skills in sexually transmitted infection identification, treatment recommendation, and follow-up care.
Violence Against Women by
Violence Against Women examines a wide range of relationships that may be affected by intimate partner violence and takes a culturally sensitive, international approach to issues underpinning family violence, dating violence, and the injuries children suffer when their caregivers perpetrate violence. This text offers insight into a variety of subjects affecting women domestically and internationally.
