Library: Clinicians' Information: Overview

Purpose of this Guide

This guide is a curated list of resources for clinicians such as drug information, clinical guidelines, and evidence-based medicine resources available through the Advocate Health - Midwest Library or freely online.

Best Bets

If you're short on time, try one of these highly used clinical resources:

PubMed This link opens in a new window Free and easy to use search engine from the National Library of Medicine. Find journal articles on medicine, pharmacology, integrative medicine, nursing and allied health topics.
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window Articles from academic journals in the fields of medicine and pharmacy, with select coverage of nursing and allied health.
- This link opens in a new window
UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive drug information, including interaction checkers, a drug identifier, patient education and toxicology information. Resource provided by System Clinical Pharmacy Services. Remote access to UpToDate Lexidrug is available on institutional VPN.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
- This link opens in a new window

Medical Specialty Guides

Explore these related guides to find additional library resources, or view all guides.