Discover Advocate Health - Midwest Library resources for primary care.
If you don't find what you need:
Berkowitz's Pediatrics by
6th edition - Edited by a leading primary care authority with more than one hundred contributors, this edition provides comprehensive coverage of hundreds of topics ranging from temper tantrums and toilet training to adolescent depression and suicide.
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2025-2026 by
2025-2026 edition - Intended for all clinicians interested in updated evidence-based guidelines for primary care topics in ambulatory and hospital settings. This handy reference consolidates information from national medical associations and government agencies into concise recommendations and guidelines covering virtually all primary care topics.
Essentials of Psychiatry in Primary Care: Behavioral Health in the Medical Setting by
An innovative psychiatry textbook that presents behavioral disorders from the perspective of what is seen in medical settings and seeks to integrate medicine and psychiatry. The book identifies physical symptoms as a common mode of presentation of mental health problems and describes how to integrate them with psychological symptoms to make diagnoses of mental disorders. Also details a behaviorally defined, evidence-based mental healthcare model that can be effectively used in a medical setting. The combined experiences in primary care of the authors who specialize in both general internal medicine and psychiatry provide the perfect background for a book of this nature.
Ferri's Best Test by
5th edition - Ferri's Best Test, is a unique, easy-to-use guide that simplifies complex information and helps you choose the best test to supplement your clinical diagnostic skills. It includes both lab and imaging tests for concise, convenient access to all diagnostic test options for more than 200 common diseases and disorders.
Ferri's Clinical Advisor by
Ferri's Clinical Advisor provides immediate answers on the myriad medical diseases and disorders you're likely to encounter in a unique, easy-to-use format. It provides current and clinically relevant answers on over 1,000 common medical conditions, including diseases and disorders, differential diagnoses, clinical algorithms, laboratory tests, and clinical practice guidelines.
Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics by
7th edition - Written with first-line primary care providers in mind, this book is a comprehensive source of practical clinical guidance. Using a case-based approach, it covers the patient presentations you're most likely to encounter, offering key clinical information, expert advice, and evidence-based guidelines. Features an interdisciplinary perspective to provide team-oriented knowledge on the best diagnosis, treatment, and management strategies available to address the complex needs of older adults.
Handbook of Outpatient Medicine by
2nd edition - Provides a quick, algorithm-based guide to diagnosis and management of common problems seen in adult patients. Written by experienced primary care practitioners, this text covers common symptoms and disorders by system, including endocrine, respiratory, cardiac, orthopedic, neurologic, genitourinary, and gynecologic. Symptoms, red flags, algorithms for differential diagnosis, related symptoms and findings, laboratory workup, treatment guidelines, and clinical pearls are discussed.
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care by
4th edition - The go-to reference for step-by-step strategies for nearly every medical procedure that can be performed in an office, hospital, or emergency care facility by primary care providers. Features numerous updated illustrations and incorporates updated ICD-10-CM codes throughout. Utilizes a concise outline format, detailed text and illustrations, and abundant boxes and tables for quick access to the information you need.
Sexual and Reproductive Health: A Practical Guide for Primary Care by
1st edition - Point-of-care resource for effective sexual and reproductive healthcare for patients of all ages, sexual orientations, gender identities and medical backgrounds in the primary care setting. This book provides primary care clinicians with a framework for providing effective sexual and reproductive healthcare to patients in a way that is inclusive, focuses on health, and addresses the needs unique to specific populations.
Start with these resources to search for articles or to find evidence-based information.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowView the full A-Z Resource Listing for additional resources for finding articles and evidence-based information.
Need some help finding articles?
Request a literature search and a librarian will search for articles on your topic.
The Advocate Health - Midwest Library maintains SHARE, a digital archive for collecting, preserving, and disseminating the research and intellectual output of the organization. View recent repository content related to this guide:
Discover how to keep up to date with the literature in your field by exploring the guides listed below.
View the Staying Current guide to get an overview of your options. BrowZine can notify you about new issues from your must-read clinical journals. Discover how Read by QxMD can alert you to new articles on specific topics.
Explore the Library's collection of primary care journals in BrowZine.
Learn more about using BrowZine to stay current with your favorite journals.
Clinical resources from professional associations:
Explore these guides related to primary care to find additional library resources, or view all guides.
