Discover Advocate Health - Midwest Library resources for family medicine.
If you don't find what you need:
5-Minute Clinical Consult 2025 by
33rd edition - Practical and highly organized, the 5-Minute Clinical Consult 2025 provides rapid access to the diagnosis, treatment, medications, follow-up, and associated conditions for more than 500 disease and condition topics to help you make accurate decisions at the point of care. Organized alphabetically by diagnosis, it presents brief, bulleted points in a templated format and contains more than 100 diagnostic and therapeutic algorithms.
Berkowitz's Pediatrics by
6th edition - Edited by a leading primary care authority with more than one hundred contributors, this edition provides comprehensive coverage of hundreds of topics ranging from temper tantrums and toilet training to adolescent depression and suicide.
Conn's Current Therapy 2024 by
The 2024 edition is an excellent resource for a wide range of healthcare providers, including primary care, subspecialists, and allied health, providing current treatment information in a concise yet in-depth format.
CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment in Family Medicine by
5th edition - An easy-to-use guide to the diagnosis, treatment, and management of the full range of clinical conditions seen in primary care. The leading resource for USMLE Step 3 review, board certification and maintenance or recertification. Essential for primary care trainees, practicing physicians, advanced practice nurses, and physician assistants.
CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2024 by
2024 edition - Intended for all clinicians interested in updated evidence-based guidelines for primary care topics in ambulatory and hospital settings. This handy reference consolidates information from national medical associations and government agencies into concise recommendations and guidelines covering virtually all primary care topics.
Dermatology for the Primary Care Provider by
Designed for today's busy family physicians, this is an easy-to-use reference covering the diagnosis and management of commonly seen dermatologic conditions. It provides practical, everyday guidance for quick reference at the point of care, including management pitfalls, clinical warning signs, specific treatment recommendations, and much more. Packed with need-to-know information, this unique resource is invaluable both when you are confident in your diagnosis and need guidance on next steps, or when you need step-by-step assistance on initial management in the absence of a definitive diagnosis. Highlights common management pitfalls, how to rule out acutely dangerous entities, and clinical warning signs requiring urgent referral. Provides specific treatment recommendations including which level of therapy is necessary, clear instructions on how to prescribe, and what to watch for. Includes numerous treatment algorithms throughout, as well as a differential diagnosis overview list in every chapter with cross-references to the corresponding page. Contains helpful information on patient education as well as answers to commonly asked patient questions.
New and Emerging Issues in Latinx Health by
1st edition - Chapters in this book, written by highly respected experts, illuminate the diversity of the Latinx population and provide strategies to mitigate many of the challenges they face, including challenges related to migrating to new destinations.
Obstetrics in Family Medicine: a Practical Guide by
3rd edition - Obstetrical care in the family medicine setting is an ever-evolving discipline. In addition to routine updates due to the passage of time, several new developments have occurred in the field since the last edition of this book was published. Among these developments are advances in prenatal assessment and diagnosis, recommendations for vaccination in pregnancy, assessment and management of infectious disease in pregnancy, and management of chronic disease concurrent with pregnancy. All thirty-one chapters of the second edition of this text have been thoroughly updated. Several chapters warranted substantive expansion and revision due to the developments on the topic. These chapters include preconception counseling, prenatal care, dysmorphic growth, preterm labor, recurrent pregnancy loss, infection, diabetes, postdates, normal labor, induction and augmentation, prolonged labor, fetal heart rate monitoring, routine postpartum and complications postpartum. A new chapter has been added that covers vaccination in pregnancy as well as other routine wellness recommendations.
Patient-Centered Clinical Care for African Americans by
1st edition - A guide outlining specific differences in communication, clinical therapies, medications, protocols, and other critical approaches to the care of African Americans. It will be of significant interest to all physicians, clinicians, and allied health personnel.
Pfenninger and Fowler's Procedures for Primary Care by
4th edition - The go-to reference for step-by-step strategies for nearly every medical procedure that can be performed in an office, hospital, or emergency care facility by primary care providers. Features numerous updated illustrations and incorporates updated ICD-10-CM codes throughout. Utilizes a concise outline format, detailed text and illustrations, and abundant boxes and tables for quick access to the information you need.
Start with these resources to search for articles or to find evidence-based information.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowView the full A-Z Resource Listing for additional resources for finding articles and evidence-based information.
Need some help finding articles?
Request a literature search and a librarian will search for articles on your topic.
Keeping Up with the Literature
Discover how to keep up to date with the literature in your field by exploring the guides listed below.
View the Staying Current guide to get an overview of your options. BrowZine can notify you about new issues from your must-read clinical journals. Discover how Read by QxMD can alert you to new articles on specific topics.
Explore the Library's collection of family practice journals in BrowZine.
Learn more about using BrowZine to stay current with your favorite journals.
Clinical resources from professional associations:
Online resources and handouts for your patients:
Additional resources for patient education materials can be found on our Patient Health Information guide.
Explore these guides related to family medicine to find additional library resources, or view all guides.
