This guide is a starting point to discover Advocate Health - Midwest Library books, journals and other resources on sports medicine.
If you don't find what you need:
Baxter's the Foot and Ankle in Sport by
3rd edition - Provides focused, authoritative information on the examination, diagnosis, treatment, and rehabilitation of sports-related foot and ankle injuries - ideal for returning both professional and recreational athletes to full use and function. Provides expert guidance on athletic evaluation, sports syndromes, anatomic disorders, orthoses and rehabilitation, and more. Includes new and updated case studies and pearls for optimal use in the clinical setting.
Clinical Care of the Runner by
Offering current guidance from national and international experts,this text provides a comprehensive, practical approach to caring for the runner patient. Ensures that you’re up to date with assessment, biomechanics, musculoskeletal injuries, medical illness, training, special populations, and other key topics.
Complications in Orthopaedics: Sports Medicine by
In this inaugural volume dedicated to sports medicine surgery, series editors describe and demonstrate practical solutions that are integral to improving patient outcomes. Covers a wide variety of procedures, including meniscus repair and transplantation, revision ACL reconstruction, pediatric ACL surgery, cartilage surgery in adults and children, knee osteotomies, acromioclavicular surgery, hip arthroscopy, and much more. Describes and offers solutions to the most common or most devastating errors and complications in the practice of sports medicine surgery, combining the breadth of knowledge of academic surgeons with the in-the-trenches skills of community surgeons.
DeLee, Drez, and Millers Orthopaedic Sports Medicine: Principles and Practice by
5th edition - This resource provides detailed, up-to-date coverage of medical disorders that routinely interfere with athletic performance and return to play, providing the clinically focused information you need when managing athletes at any level. It provides a unique balance of every relevant surgical technique along with extensive guidance on nonsurgical issues.
Epidemiology of Injuries in Sports by
1st edition - This concise yet comprehensive book covers epidemiology of injuries in 24 different sports ranging from football, volleyball, athletics, to less explored ones, like archery and Formula 1. For each discipline the authors present and analyze the sport’s main characteristics, physiological and biomechanical demands on athletes, epidemiology of injuries, prevention strategies, rehabilitation and return to play.
The Female Athlete by
Concise, expert coverage of the ways in which common sports medicine injuries present in female patients versus male patients, describing recent literature analyzing sex differences in injury patterns and available treatment options. Covers many of the most common injuries, including ACL injuries, shoulder instability, concussion, stress fractures, and overuse injuries. Considers prevention strategies, nutritional recommendations, and exercise recommendations during pregnancy.
Knee pain in sports medicine : essentials of diagnosis and treatment by
Clinicians, physiatrists, and fitness trainers are daily faced with challenges regarding the diagnosis and management of microtraumatic knee injuries. These conditions are particularly complex and misdiagnosis or delayed diagnosis may lead to performance limitations and a prolonged absence from sports activities. Knee Pain in Sports Medicine: Essentials of Diagnosis and Treatment helps readers accurately diagnose these conditions and provides effective guidance on management, allowing for prompt recovery and return to play. Contains numerous helpful illustrations, including patient photographs, anatomical drawings, and imaging results. Concludes each chapter with take-home messages that help readers remember key points regarding the specific pathology. Includes a valuable self-assessment section with clinical cases and multiple-choice questions that allow readers to evaluate their own work and learning progress. Consolidates today's available information on this timely topic into a single, convenient resource.
Netter's Sports Medicine by
3rd edition - From Little League to professional sports, weekend warriors to Olympic champions, and backcountry mountainside to the Super Bowl field, this interdisciplinary reference is indispensable in the busy outpatient office, in the training room, on the sidelines, and in preparation for sports medicine board certification
The Transgender Athlete by
The Transgender Athlete: A Guide for Sports Medicine Providers presents sports medicine practitioners insights into the unique issues and concerns of transgender athletes in order to help them understand rules regarding transgender athlete participation and learn how to better provide competent care to transgender athletes. There are over 1.4 million transgender adults in the United States. Transgender individuals undergo gender-affirming treatments including sex hormone therapy and gender-affirming surgery. An increasing number of transgender people are participating in sports and presenting to sports medicine clinics with injuries, yet there is little research about this athlete population. It is important that sports medicine providers understand the types of hormone treatments and surgeries and how these changes affect the musculoskeletal health of transgender people. Additionally, transgender people may require specific considerations when interacting with medical providers. Furthermore, sports medicine providers are often consulted to formulate transgender athlete inclusion policy. These policies are continuously changing, as new evidence becomes available, which may be difficult to understand without knowledge of the gender transition process.
Writing and Publishing Research in Kinesiology, Health, and Sport Science by
Drawing on real-world experience and presented in an informal and accessible manner, Writing and Publishing Research in Kinesiology, Health, and Sport Science provides upper-level students and early-career academics with an essential resource to aid in disseminating research and publishing their first papers. Logically structured to take researchers through each step of the publishing process, the book offers subject-specific advice on developing every aspect of theoretical, applied, or position papers. This is important and accessible reading for any researchers seeking advice on publishing their work in fields including but not limited to kinesiology, health, exercise science, physical education, or recreation.
Start with these resources to search for articles or evidence-based information.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowView the full A-Z Resource Listing for additional resources for finding articles and evidence-based information.
Need some help finding articles?
Request a literature search and a librarian will search for articles on your topic.
Keeping Up with the Literature
Discover how to keep up to date with the literature in your field by exploring the guides listed below.
View the Staying Current guide to get an overview of your options. BrowZine can notify you about new issues from your must-read clinical journals. Discover how Read by QxMD can alert you to new articles on specific topics.
Explore the Library's collection of sports medicine journals in BrowZine.
Learn more about using BrowZine to stay current with your favorite journals.
Clinical resources from professional organizations:
Explore these guides related to sports medicine to find additional library resources, or view all guides.
