Skip to Main Content
Cardiac Surgery Certification
AACN Core Curriculum for Progressive and Critical Care Nursing by Tonja Hartjes, AACN
8th edition This book covers the knowledge and skills needed to prepare for the CCRN® and PCCN® certification examinations and to provide safe and effective care in progressive and critical care settings. Content in this edition corresponds to the most recent CCRN® and PCCN® exam blueprints and reflects the latest in evidence-based practice.
Publication Date: 2023
Cardiac Surgery Essentials for Critical Care Nursing by Sonya R. Hardin, Roberta Kaplow
3rd edition - This comprehensive reference that provides a foundation for all cardiac nurses. It is designed to prepare the nurse who is first learning to care for patients undergoing cardiac surgery. It addresses significant changes in cardiac surgery and the nursing responsibilities to meet the needs of these acutely ill patients. Second, the book provides advanced knowledge and a scientific basis for nurses who have mastered the essential knowledge and skills necessary to care for this patient population who now seek more in-depth knowledge base about advances in this dynamic field and strategies to optimize patient outcomes. The emphasis throughout the book is providing an evidence-based foundation for care of the patient during the vulnerable period immediately following cardiac surgery. It also serves as a study aid for those readers preparing for the AACN's Cardiac Surgery Certificaton.
Publication Date: 2019
Cardiac Vascular Nurse Certification Review by Kristine L'Ecuyer, Elaine Young
This review provides a concise and focused survey of the most important aspects of cardiovascular care. Cardiac nursing experts deliver essential information in an easy-to-follow outline format that includes a glossary, bulleted key points, patient scenarios, clinical pearls, case studies, references, and practice Q&As in each chapter.
Publication Date: 2022
Hemodynamic Monitoring by Mary E. Lough
An evidence-based guide to hemodynamic monitoring procedures and patient care, this reference describes invasive, non-invasive, and minimally invasive techniques in monitoring blood pressure and oxygen levels within the circulatory system. It provides a clear, illustrated discussion of the anatomy and physiology related to hemodynamics, explains the technologies involved in each measurement, and includes quick-reference tables of normal and abnormal values.
Publication Date: 2016
Kern's Cardiac Catheterization Handbook by Paul Sorajja, Michael J. Lim, Morton J. Kern
7th edition - This detailed, authoritative guide is ideal for cardiologists who need a quick clinical primer on cardiac catheterization, as well as for all members of the cardiac cath team. Provides clear instructions on what to expect, what to avoid, and how to manage complications for every procedure you'll encounter - including coverage of new techniques and technologies that affect virtually all aspects of familiar procedures. Covers all the newest catheterization techniques for vascular closure and expansion of large-bore access procedures, including TAVR, ECMO, mitraclip, and TMVR. Features a new chapter on intracardiac echocardiography and intraprocedural imaging. Discusses key topics such as intra-procedural imaging, management of complications with algorithms that expedite the approach to these patients, adjunctive hemodynamic support, and maintaining quality in the laboratory. Incorporates an increased emphasis on indications and contraindications for procedures in the context of a multidisciplinary heart team approach. Includes numerous clear illustrations to enhance your understanding of the material, as well as videos of Dr. Kern demonstrating various procedures in the cath lab.
Publication Date: 2020
Manual of Perioperative Care in Adult Cardiac Surgery by Robert M. Bojar
6th edition - Robert M. Bojar's text remains the go-to practical guide for all of those involved in the care of the cardiac surgery patient. Written in outline format, it provides a comprehensive, detailed, and clearly explained review of cardiac surgical disease and perioperative management that is of value to practicing cardiac surgeons as well as to cardiologists, residents, fellows, advanced practice providers, critical care and floor nurses, perfusionists, and medical students.
Publication Date: 2021
AACN Core Curriculum for Progressive and Critical Care Nursing by
8th edition This book covers the knowledge and skills needed to prepare for the CCRN® and PCCN® certification examinations and to provide safe and effective care in progressive and critical care settings. Content in this edition corresponds to the most recent CCRN® and PCCN® exam blueprints and reflects the latest in evidence-based practice.
AACN Procedure Manual for Progressive and Critical Care by
8th edition - The AACN Procedure Manual for Progressive and Critical Care is the authoritative reference to procedures performed in high acuity, progressive, and critical care settings. It visually guides you through procedures unique to the adult critical care environment, including those performed by advanced practice nurses, in an illustrated, step-by-step format.
Cardiac Surgery Essentials for Critical Care Nursing by
3rd edition - This comprehensive reference that provides a foundation for all cardiac nurses. It is designed to prepare the nurse who is first learning to care for patients undergoing cardiac surgery. It addresses significant changes in cardiac surgery and the nursing responsibilities to meet the needs of these acutely ill patients. Second, the book provides advanced knowledge and a scientific basis for nurses who have mastered the essential knowledge and skills necessary to care for this patient population who now seek more in-depth knowledge base about advances in this dynamic field and strategies to optimize patient outcomes. The emphasis throughout the book is providing an evidence-based foundation for care of the patient during the vulnerable period immediately following cardiac surgery. It also serves as a study aid for those readers preparing for the AACN's Cardiac Surgery Certificaton.
Cardiac Vascular Nurse Certification Review by
This review provides a concise and focused survey of the most important aspects of cardiovascular care. Cardiac nursing experts deliver essential information in an easy-to-follow outline format that includes a glossary, bulleted key points, patient scenarios, clinical pearls, case studies, references, and practice Q&As in each chapter.
Hemodynamic Monitoring by
An evidence-based guide to hemodynamic monitoring procedures and patient care, this reference describes invasive, non-invasive, and minimally invasive techniques in monitoring blood pressure and oxygen levels within the circulatory system. It provides a clear, illustrated discussion of the anatomy and physiology related to hemodynamics, explains the technologies involved in each measurement, and includes quick-reference tables of normal and abnormal values.
Introduction to Basic Cardiac Dysrhythmias by
5th edition - Designed for use by the spectrum of EMS, nursing, and other healthcare professionals, this latest edition provides users with the critical knowledge needed to interpret dysrhythmias and determine the appropriate treatment.
Kern's Cardiac Catheterization Handbook by
7th edition - This detailed, authoritative guide is ideal for cardiologists who need a quick clinical primer on cardiac catheterization, as well as for all members of the cardiac cath team. Provides clear instructions on what to expect, what to avoid, and how to manage complications for every procedure you'll encounter - including coverage of new techniques and technologies that affect virtually all aspects of familiar procedures. Covers all the newest catheterization techniques for vascular closure and expansion of large-bore access procedures, including TAVR, ECMO, mitraclip, and TMVR. Features a new chapter on intracardiac echocardiography and intraprocedural imaging. Discusses key topics such as intra-procedural imaging, management of complications with algorithms that expedite the approach to these patients, adjunctive hemodynamic support, and maintaining quality in the laboratory. Incorporates an increased emphasis on indications and contraindications for procedures in the context of a multidisciplinary heart team approach. Includes numerous clear illustrations to enhance your understanding of the material, as well as videos of Dr. Kern demonstrating various procedures in the cath lab.
Manual of Perioperative Care in Adult Cardiac Surgery by
6th edition - Robert M. Bojar's text remains the go-to practical guide for all of those involved in the care of the cardiac surgery patient. Written in outline format, it provides a comprehensive, detailed, and clearly explained review of cardiac surgical disease and perioperative management that is of value to practicing cardiac surgeons as well as to cardiologists, residents, fellows, advanced practice providers, critical care and floor nurses, perfusionists, and medical students.
