Library: Medical Residents' Information: Clinical Care

Point of Care

ClinicalKey Clinical Overviews

Drug Information

UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive drug information, including interaction checkers, a drug identifier, patient education and toxicology information. Resource provided by System Clinical Pharmacy Services. Remote access to UpToDate Lexidrug is available on institutional VPN.

AccessMedicine Drug Monographs

Patient Education

MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window Reliable and easy-to-understand health information for patients from the National Library of Medicine and other trusted health-related organizations. Find information on 1000s of health topics, drugs and supplements, medical tests and genetics.

AccessMedicine Patient Education Handouts
ClinicalKey: Patient Education You can search the list of topics by title or narrow the topics by discipline, authoring organization, or language. You can created tailored PDF handouts for patients with the option of adding special instructions and contact details. You can share patient education information as a printed handout or an electronic PDF file.

Practice Guidelines

ClinicalKey Guidelines

CURRENT Practice Guidelines in Primary Care 2025-2026 by Jacob A. David 2025-2026 edition - Intended for all clinicians interested in updated evidence-based guidelines for primary care topics in ambulatory and hospital settings. This handy reference consolidates information from national medical associations and government agencies into concise recommendations and guidelines covering virtually all primary care topics.
Publication Date: 2025

Additional Guidelines

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - Clinicians and Providers
Clinical information on evidence-based practice, clinical guidelines, medical effectiveness, pharmaceutical therapy, new technology, screening and preventive services, and outcomes research.
Annals of Internal Medicine Clinical Guidelines
Guidelines published in the Annals of Internal Medicine
The Community Guide
The Guide to Community Preventive Services (The Community Guide) is a collection of evidence-based findings of the Community Preventive Services Task Force (CPSTF). It is a resource to help you select interventions to improve health and prevent disease in your state, community, community organization, business, healthcare organization or school.
ECRI Guidelines Trust
Publicly available online repository of objective, evidence-based clinical practice guideline content from a non-profit, independent organization, using an unbiased, evidence-based approach to develop guidance, and maintain principles of integrity and transparent work. This centralized repository includes evidence-based guidance developed by nationally and internationally recognized medical organizations and medical specialty societies.

Evidence-Based Medicine

The practice of evidence-based medicine uses systematic reviews of the medical literature to evaluate the best evidence on specific clinical topics. These tools offer updated, expert answers to patient-care, diagnosis and treatment questions.

ACCESSSS
ACCESSSS provides "one-stop" access to pre-appraised evidence to address this key question: what is the current best evidence available to support clinical decisions?

ACP Journal Club This link opens in a new window
ACP Journal Club summarizes the best new evidence for internal medicine from over 120 clinical journals. Once a bimonthly stand-alone journal, ACP Journal Club is a monthly feature of Annals of Internal Medicine. All ACP members have free access to the online version of Journal Club. The Advocate Health - Midwest Library's subscription to Annals of Internal Medicine is another gateway to ACP Journal Club.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
Trip This link opens in a new window
Search engine to help rapidly identify the highest-quality clinical evidence. Filter search results by type of evidence such as systematic reviews, clinical trials and guidelines. Search by PICO question format.