Library: Medical Residents' Information: Databases

Literature Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Free and easy to use search engine from the National Library of Medicine. Find journal articles on medicine, pharmacology, integrative medicine, nursing and allied health topics.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Methodology Reviews, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Cochrane Methodology Register, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects, Health Technology Assessment Database and NHS Economic Evaluation Database.

Multi-Resource Databases

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and other healthcare professionals. It provides access to a unique combination of medical reference books, medical journals, drug information and practice guidelines.
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online resource from McGraw-Hill that features leading medical content, plus multimedia, self-assessment, algorithms, case studies and more.

Image Databases

Centers for Disease Control: Public Health Image Library The CDC's Public Health Image Library offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. They welcome public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. Since they have been produced by the U.S. Federal Government, the images are in the public domain.
MedPix A free, open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics and nearly 59,000 images. The content material is organized by disease location (organ system); pathology category; patient profiles; and, by image classification and image captions. The collection is searchable by patient symptoms and signs, diagnosis, organ system, image modality and image description, keywords, contributing authors and many other search options. MedPix® images are produced by many different people and are free of charge for your personal use and local teaching. For anything other than that type of use, you should contact the original contributor for permission.
National Cancer Institute: Visuals Online The National Cancer Institute offers a collection of featured medical images in several collections: science & technology, childhood cancer, Spanish-language images and diagrams, anatomy, historical images, and B-roll videos. The full collection is also searchable. Each image or illustration included in the NCI Visuals Online Web site is labeled either "Public Domain" (free to use) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted, obtain permission before use). Most of the images available in this library are in the public domain and are not subject to copyright restrictions.
National Library of Medicine Digital Collections NLM’s Digital Collections allow searching and browsing numerous document collections: Images from the History of Medicine, World War 1, Medicine in the Americas 1610-1920, and many more. You can also search the collections for only images.
NLM: Images from the History of Medicine Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) in NLM Digital Collections provides online access to images from the historical collections of the U.S. National Library of Medicine. IHM includes image files of a wide variety of visual media including fine art, photographs, engravings, and posters that illustrate the social and historical aspects of medicine dating from the 15th to 21st century.
Open-i Open-i service of the National Library of Medicine enables search and retrieval of abstracts and images (including charts, graphs, clinical images, etc.) from the open source literature, and biomedical image collections. It provides access to over 3.7 million images from about 1.2 million PubMed Central® articles; 7,470 chest x-rays with 3,955 radiology reports; 67,517 images from NLM History of Medicine collection; and 2,064 orthopedic illustrations.