You can access the full text of an article in a few different ways:
If you are working remotely and not connected to the VPN, you may be prompted to login with your Advocate Health - Midwest single sign on credentials. Learn more on our Remote Access guide.
If you look for articles that the library has full text for in its collection or for open access articles (free to anyone), you'll be able to share the article with your group right away. Learn more about sharing articles by clicking the "Sharing Articles" tab in the menu.
Find It buttons can appear when using some databases from the library's website. This button will direct you towards the full text of an article if it is within the library's collection. If the library doesn't have access to full text, you will find a link to a form where you can request the article. Each database will show the Find It button in a slightly different location. However, they should always appear within the item's record near other ways to access full text.
Looking at an article record within PubMed, the Find It button should appear in the top right-hand corner of the record.*
*Note: In order to see the Find It button within PubMed, you need to access PubMed using the links provided on our library website.
In databases provided by EBSCO (CINAHL Ultimate, Health Business Elite and MEDLINE), the Find It button for an article can be found with your search results, as well as, within the item record. You can also use the PDF Full Text button, when available.
