Library: Pharmacology and Drug Information: Databases

Drug Monographs

Pharmacy & Pharmacology Resources

Briggs Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation (UpToDate Lexidrug) This link opens in a new window Briggs' Drugs in Pregnancy and Lactation provides information on a medication's effects on the fetus during pregnancy and on the breast-feeding infant. It also includes pregnancy and breast-feeding recommendations with links to Briggs' definitions and in-line reference links to PubMed. Part of UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp).
- This link opens in a new window
DailyMed This link opens in a new window DailyMed is the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts). This Web site provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts
Hale's Medications and Mother's Milk Online This link opens in a new window Choose this version for onsite access.
Evidence-based information on the transmission of maternal drugs into human milk. Includes information on over 1300 drugs, diseases, vaccines, and syndromes, plus methods of reducing risk to infants and infant monitoring.
LactMed - Drugs and Lactation Database This link opens in a new window Information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Therapeutic alternatives are provided, where appropriate.
UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive drug information, including interaction checkers, a drug identifier, patient education and toxicology information. Resource provided by System Clinical Pharmacy Services. Remote access to UpToDate Lexidrug is available on institutional VPN.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference This link opens in a new window Martindale is the industry's most reliable and respected international drug reference. Martindale provides an unbiased and thorough review of pharmaceutical products available worldwide. Martindale offers an unrivalled global focus on the identification of medications, local equivalents, manufacturers, and more. Part of UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp).
- This link opens in a new window
Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics This link opens in a new window Critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of drugs for common diseases.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pediatric Neonatal Lexi-Drugs This link opens in a new window Specifically designed for Pediatricians, other clinicians who work with pediatric patients, or in any situation in which pediatric dosing information is required. Part of UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp).
- This link opens in a new window
Prescriber Insights APRN This link opens in a new window Nurse practitioners can find unbiased, evidence-based medication recommendations. Access vital, practice-changing updates on new medications and patient care guidelines to keep ahead of the curve.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Prescriber Insights MD This link opens in a new window Physicians can find unbiased, evidence-based medication recommendations. Access vital, practice-changing updates on new medications and patient care guidelines to keep ahead of the curve.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Prescriber Insights PA This link opens in a new window Physician assistants can find unbiased, evidence-based medication recommendations. Access vital, practice-changing updates on new medications and patient care guidelines to keep ahead of the curve.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Integrative Medicine Resources

NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window High-quality, evidence-based information about dietary supplements, herbal medicines, complementary and alternative therapies, diets, and exercise.Tools include an interaction checker, effectiveness checker, and a pregnancy and lactation checker. Search for 1000s of commercial products.
- This link opens in a new window
HerbMedPro This link opens in a new window Access the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health in this evidence-based resource for professionals, researchers and general public.

Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center - About Herbs Provides objective, evidence-based information that can be helpful in judging a product’s: traditional and proven uses, potential benefits, possible adverse effects and interactions with other herbs or medicines.