You should plan to conduct your search in multiple databases. Clinical trials registries and grey literature sources are also searched for a comprehensive review. Advocate Health - Midwest Library offers a number of databases, but the library does not subscribe to everything. Some notable databases for systematic reviews include EMBASE, Web of Science, Scopus and PsycInfo. Consult with a librarian for suggestions on how you might access these resources.
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is an essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
For those interested in social aspects of health and disease.
This is the Cochrane Handbook Searching for and Selecting Studies Chapter Appendix of Resources for publication 19 December 2019. It contains a list of freely available databases and tools.
Inclusion of grey literature into a systematic review is recommended in order to help minimize publication bias.
Examples of grey literature include:
The inclusion of grey literature in systematic reviews is widely recognized as important and international organizations recommend the addition of grey literature in systematic reviews into their guidelines and manuals for working on reviews and meta-analyses.
This is a chapter from AHRQ's Methods Guide for Effectiveness and Comparative Effectiveness Reviews.
You can start searching the grey literature with these resources:
New York Academy of Medicine collects grey literature from a list of healthcare related organizations, updated bi-monthly.
Catalog of millions of records representing open access resources from open access collections worldwide. OAIster includes more than 25 million records representing digital resources from more than 1,100 contributors.
Gateway to over 50 million pages of authoritative selected science information provided by U.S. government agencies, including research and development results.
Global science gateway-accelerating scientific discovery and progress through a multilateral partnership to enable federated searching of national and international scientific databases.
Available through Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions (Go to Part2>General methods for Cochrane reviews>Searching for studies>Sources to search>Bibliographic databases>section 4.3.5 Other sources
A list of organizations providing health information.
Checklist for national and international health technology web sites, clinical practice guidelines, health economics resources, drug and device regulatory agencies, drug class reviews, drug formulary web sites, clinical trial registries, Canadian health prevalence or incidence databases, etc.
Sample clinical trial databases:
It is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world. Studies are generally submitted to the website (that is, registered) when they begin, and the information on the site is updated throughout the study. In some cases, results of the study are submitted after the study ends. This website and database of clinical studies is commonly referred to as a "registry" and "results database.
Registry of Current controlled Trials. It is a primary clinical trial registry recognized by WHO and ICMJE that accepts all clinical research studies (whether proposed, ongoing, or completed), providing content validation and curation and the unique identification number necessary for publication. All study records in the database are freely accessible and searchable.
Access to data provided by clinical trial registries around the world that meet WHO criteria for content and quality.
