This guide is a starting point to discover Advocate Health - Midwest Library resources for geriatric medicine.
If you don't find what you need on this guide:
View all books on geriatric medicine
Featured eBooks:
Geriatrics Models of Care: Bringing Best Practice to an Aging America by
The second edition of Geriatrics Models of Care is the definitive resource for systems-based practice improvement for the care of older adults. Several new models of care have been published, new outcomes have emerged to better understand the impact of existing models, and with the rise of the Age-Friendly Health Systems movement, promoting organized efforts to prepare our health care settings is paramount. The second edition is organized based on the practice setting along a continuum of care: hospital, transitions from hospital to home, outpatient settings, and the emergency department. This book also highlights long-term care models, which is an important part of the continuum of care for older Americans. Further, this edition features models that address the needs of vulnerable populations. This new section will describe a spectrum of programs for older adults who have Alzheimer's disease or Parkinson's disease. Other models describe best practices for older adults undergoing surgery or those who want to remain functioning independently in their home.
Brocklehurst's Textbook of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology by
8th edition - An increased focus on frailty, along with coverage of key issues in gerontology, disease-specific geriatrics, and complex syndromes specific to the elderly, makes this 8th Edition the reference you'll turn to in order to meet the unique challenges posed by this growing patient population. Consistent discussions of clinical manifestations, diagnosis, prevention, treatment, and more make reference quick and easy.
Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics by
8th edition - This text is an up-to-date introductory guide to the core topics in geriatric medicine. You will find thorough and authoritative coverage of all the important issues in geriatrics, along with concise, practical guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of the diseases and disorders commonly encountered in an elderly patient.
Psychogeriatrics : A Clinical Guide by
The aim of this book is to establish a gold standard: a reference work to be used as a clinical guide to the assessment of mental illness in older persons in the field. Psychogeriatrics is generally a very specific field in the midst of different disciplines, where there is hardly a clinical consensus on how to best assess and treat elderly subjects with mental or behavioral symptoms, possibly resulting from psychiatric disorders. This book provides clear and practical indications, prepared by a panel of international experts in the field with extensive scientific and clinical experience.
Geriatric Practice: A Competency Based Approach to Caring for Older Adults by
1st edition - This book serves as a comprehensive reference for the basic principles of caring for older adults, directly corresponding to the key competencies for medical student and residents. These competencies are covered in 10 sections, each with chapters that target the skills and knowledge necessary for achieving competency.
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology by
8th edition - This comprehensive guide combines gerontology principles with clinical geriatrics, offering unmatched coverage of this area of medicine. This updated eighth edition reflects the continued growth and increasing sophistication of geriatrics as a defined medical discipline. The book focuses on the implementation of key concepts and covers the foundation for geriatrics, as well as frequently encountered syndromes found in older adults.
Memory Loss, Alzheimer's Disease and Dementia by
3rd edition - Find the essentials of physical and cognitive examinations and laboratory and imaging studies for dementia and related illnesses, giving you the guidance you need to make accurate diagnosis and treatment decisions with confidence. Provides in-depth coverage of clinically useful diagnostic tests and the latest research findings and treatment approaches. Incorporates real-world case studies that facilitate the management of both common and uncommon conditions.
Start with these resources to search for articles or to conduct a literature search.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new windowView the full A-Z Resource Listing for additional resources for finding articles and evidence-based information.
Need some help finding articles? Request a literature search and a librarian will search for articles on your topic.
Explore the Library's collection of geriatric and gerontology journals in BrowZine.
Learn more about using BrowZine to stay current with your favorite journals.
Resources from professional organizations and government agencies:
Freely available online resources for your geriatric patients:
Additional resources can be found on our Patient Health Information guide.
Explore these guides related to geriatric medicine to find additional library resources, or view all guides.
