Images: Free and Copyright Permissible Images

LibreShot.com contains free stock photos for private and commercial use. All images are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license.

StockSnap images are all governed by the universal CC0 license whereby the image is dedicated to the public domain.

The CDC's Public Health Image Library offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures. They welcome public health professionals, the media, laboratory scientists, educators, students, and the worldwide public to use this material for reference, teaching, presentation, and public health messages. Since they have been produced by the U.S. Federal Government, the images are in the public domain.

A free, open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics and nearly 59,000 images. The content material is organized by disease location (organ system); pathology category; patient profiles; and, by image classification and image captions. The collection is searchable by patient symptoms and signs, diagnosis, organ system, image modality and image description, keywords, contributing authors and many other search options. MedPix® images are produced by many different people and are free of charge for your personal use and local teaching. For anything other than that type of use, you should contact the original contributor for permission.

The National Cancer Institute offers a collection of featured medical images in several collections: science & technology, childhood cancer, Spanish-language images and diagrams, anatomy, historical images, and B-roll videos. The full collection is also searchable. Each image or illustration included in the NCI Visuals Online Web site is labeled either "Public Domain" (free to use) or "Copyright Protected" (restricted, obtain permission before use). Most of the images available in this library are in the public domain and are not subject to copyright restrictions.

The NIGMS Image Gallery is a searchable collection of scientific photos, illustrations, and videos. The images and videos in this gallery are licensed under Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial ShareAlike 3.0. This license lets you remix, tweak, and build upon this work non-commercially, as long as you credit and license your new creations under identical terms.

The NLM Digital Collections of historical images are freely available for download worldwide and in the public domain unless otherwise indicated.

The Jopwell Collection contains stock photos that feature people of color in the workplace. The images are free to use as long as you have a visible attribution to Jopwell.

Nappy makes it easy for companies to be purposeful about representation in their designs, presentations, and advertisements by providing beautiful, free photos of Black and Brown people. All photos posted on Nappy are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license.

PICNOI is a co-op of stock image photography featuring diverse multi-racial images. PICNOI allows anyone to use any photo on the site; no attribution is required, but it is requested.

This site will help you find photos, music, text, books, educational material, and more that is free to share or build upon utilizing Creative Commons enabled search services at Google and Flickr.

Old Book Illustrations shares illustrations from a modest collection of books. These images are mainly Victorian and French Romantic period images. Most of the images are old enough to be in the public domain and so are not protected by copyright.

Wikimedia Commons is the free media repository of over 80 million freely usable images for the various projects of the Wikimedia Foundation. Everyone is allowed to copy, use and modify files as long as they follow the terms specified by the author which usually is spelled out in a Creative Commons License.