Library: Chiropractic: Overview

Purpose of this Guide

This guide is a starting point to discover Advocate Health - Midwest Library resources for chiropractic medicine and manipulative therapies.

If you don't find what you need:

Browse A-Z Resources
Use the search box on the Library homepage
Contact us with your question

Explore Resources

Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based collection of digital images and anatomical models of the body. Users can move models in various directions, add or remove layers of body structures, associate various imaging (MRIs, CT scans, cadaver, etc.) to the anatomical models, view functional anatomy animations of muscle motion, label or highlight body parts, and download or save images for use in presentations.

Anatomy.tv (Primal Pictures) includes a Chiropractic Spine section under Clinical Specialties. Sections include:

Vertebral column
Cervical spine
Thoracic spine
Lumbar spine
Sacral spine
Spinal cord
Surface features
Bone regions

View eBooks and eBook chapters on chiropractic and manipulative medicine

Featured eBooks and eBook Chapters:

Chiropractic Technique by Thomas F. Bergmann, David H. Peterson
Publication Date: 2011
3rd edition - Chiropractic Technique makes it easy to understand essential procedures and provides a rationale for their use. This bestseller describes the basic principles needed to evaluate, select, and apply specific adjustive procedures. With a review of chiropractic history, detailed descriptions of joint examination and adjustive techniques for the spine, pelvis, and extremities.
Chiropractic and Nontraditional Treatment of NTOS - Chapter in Thoracic Outlet Syndrome by Robert Thompson, Julie Ann Freischlag, et al.
Publication Date: 2021
This chapter describes the mechanisms, application, and effects of the most common manual therapies and nontraditional treatments for neurogenic thoracic outlet syndrome (NTOS).
Chiropractic: An Integrative Approach to the Evaluation and Treatment of Elite Athletes Utilizing Spinal Manipulation - Chapter in Neurosurgical Care of Athletes by Mark Oppenlander
Publication Date: 2022
This chapter describes frequently encountered disorders seen in the athlete population and describes the most common manipulative and instrument-assisted techniques that are currently used. Of equal significance are the contraindications for spinal manipulation and the role of the chiropractic physician in the skills of differential diagnosis to rule out other conditions or medical causes not related to spinal misalignments.

Start with these resources to search for articles or to find evidence-based information:

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window CINAHL provides indexing of the top nursing and allied health literature available including nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses Association. This database covers a wide range of topics including nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- This link opens in a new window
Index to Chiropractic Literature This link opens in a new window Provides indexing of peer-reviewed literature produced by chiropractic publishers. Also has links to chiropractic organizations and guidelines.
NatMed Pro This link opens in a new window High-quality, evidence-based information about dietary supplements, herbal medicines, complementary and alternative therapies, diets, and exercise.Tools include an interaction checker, effectiveness checker, and a pregnancy and lactation checker. Search for 1000s of commercial products.
- This link opens in a new window
Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro) This link opens in a new window Find randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines for physical therapy practice. Clinical trials are independently assessed for quality.
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed This link opens in a new window Free and easy to use search engine from the National Library of Medicine. Find journal articles on medicine, pharmacology, integrative medicine, nursing and allied health topics.
- This link opens in a new window

View the full A-Z Resource Listing for additional resources for finding articles and evidence-based information.

Need some help finding articles? Request a literature search and a librarian will search for articles on your topic.

Explore the Library's collection of chiropractic journals including:

Discover how to keep up to date with the literature in your field by exploring the guides listed below.

View the Staying Current guide to get an overview of your options. BrowZine can notify you about new issues from your must-read clinical journals. Discover how Read by QxMD can alert you to new articles on specific topics.

Staying Current
by Rita Mitchell, MM, MLIS Last Updated Jan 9, 2025 29 views this year
BrowZine
by Elizabeth Suelzer, MLIS, AHIP Last Updated Sep 8, 2023 4 views this year
Read by QxMD
by Elizabeth Suelzer, MLIS, AHIP Last Updated Nov 18, 2024 2 views this year

Freely available online resources for your patients:

Additional resources for patient education materials can be found on our Patient Health Information guide.

Related Guides

Explore these guides related to chiropractic to find additional library resources, or view all guides.

Integrative Medicine
by Olivia Baldwin, MSLIS Last Updated Jan 3, 2025 149 views this year
Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
by Kathy Koch, MLIS, AHIP Last Updated Nov 15, 2024 2 views this year
Rehabilitation (PT, OT, SLP)
by Kathy Koch, MLIS, AHIP Last Updated Jan 9, 2025 61 views this year
Sports Medicine
by Mini Prasad, MLIS Last Updated Dec 3, 2024 2 views this year