Discover Advocate Health - Midwest Library resources for hospital medicine.
If you don't find what you need:
View all books on hospital medicine
Featured eBooks:
Caring for the Hospitalized Child by
3rd edition - Developed by top pediatric hospitalists, Caring for the Hospitalized Child: A Handbook of Inpatient Pediatrics, is sure to become your go-to resource from initial patient evaluation all the way through discharge management. Quickly obtain the essential information for managing a wide range of pediatric medical conditions in patients who have been admitted to the hospital with this trusted, pocket-sized reference.
Guide to the Inpatient Pain Consult by
1st edition - Details how to handle patients suffering from pain conditions in the inpatient pain consult service. Provides guidelines for standard practice for optimizing the care of these patients. Covers the use of medications in cases of organ failure.
Handbook of Inpatient Cardiology by
1st edition - Containing up-to-date information from guidelines and clinical trials, this book is the only handbook-style reference on cardiac care designed specifically for the hospitalist. This book provides a concise review over a broad range of cardiovascular disease states in an accessible handbook-style to aid with the care of these patients.
Handbook of Inpatient Endocrinology by
1st edition - This handbook covers the most common issues leading to an inpatient endocrine consult, providing differential diagnoses, a reasonable and practical approach to investigating and managing the condition, and advice for follow-up.
Hospital-Based Dermatopathology by
1st edition - This book provides a concise reference of the histologic and clinical findings of dermatologic conditions encountered in the inpatient setting. Hospital-Based Dermatopathology is a useful diagnostic guide for general pathologists, pathology and dermatology trainees, medical students, dermatopathologists, as well as dermatologists, hospitalists, and inpatient clinicians.
Palliative Skills for Frontline Clinicians: Case Vignettes in Everyday Hospital Medicine by
1st edition - Spanning emergency medicine, internal medicine, surgery and various subspecialties, each chapter reads like a story, comparing usual care with a step-by-step palliative-based approach. This case-based book features a multidisciplinary, palliative-trained authorship, including neurologists, nephrologists, emergency physicians, surgeons, intensivists, and obstetricians.
Pediatric Hospital Medicine by
This educational guide provides a much-needed subspeciality-specific learning resource for pediatric hospital medicine. Featuring 50 of the most commonly presenting topics encountered by pediatric hospitalists, this book brings readers into the morning meeting and walks them through patient presentation, diagnosis, treatment, and resolution, providing realistic examples in an engaging case-based format.
Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine by
3nd edition - This edition has been completely updated to reflect the field's latest trends and issues, such as value-based medicine, bedside clinical reasoning, and hospitalist care in the post-acute care setting. Each chapter opens with boxed Key Clinical Questions that are addressed in the text and hundreds of tables encapsulate important information.
Rapid Response Situations: Management in Adult and Geriatric Hospitalist Medicine by
This book compiles the essential information needed by rapid response teams (RRT) for early intervention at the bedside of an acutely ill patient. This portable resource is ideal for hospitalists and other members of the RRT, offering step-by-step coverage of the assessment and stabilization information most needed at the time of emergency.
The Washington Manual General Internal Medicine Consult
3rd edition - Provides quick access to the essential information needed when performing an inpatient consult. Chapters are organized around presenting symptom, allowing quick look-up of differential diagnosis and management. Ideal for medical students, residents, and practitioners, the manual is also useful as a quick-reference guide for practicing hospitalists.
Start with these resources to search for articles or to conduct a literature search.
This link opens in a new windowView the full A-Z Resource Listing for additional resources for finding articles and evidence-based information.
Need some help finding articles?
Request a literature search and a librarian will search for articles on your topic.
Keeping Up with the Literature
Discover how to keep up to date with the literature in your field by exploring the guides listed below.
View the Staying Current guide to get an overview of your options. BrowZine can notify you about new issues from your must-read clinical journals. Discover how Read by QxMD can alert you to new articles on specific topics.
Browse the Library's collection of hospital medicine journals.
Learn more about using BrowZine to stay current with your favorite journals.
Find clinical resources and guidelines from these professional organizations:
Explore these guides related to hospital medicine to find additional library resources, or view all guides.
