Library: Strategy & Innovation Resources: Search Hacks

Faster Full Text with LibKey Nomad

LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that provides you with a visual, one-click option to get PDFs and other full text from many publisher's websites. It is especially useful for seeing full text availability in PubMed.

It works on Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Brave and Vivaldi browsers.

LibKey Nomad YouTube Tutorial

The LibKey Nomad extension can be installed in Edge or Chrome on your Advocate computers, or in any browser on your personal computer.

Go to: https://thirdiron.com/downloadnomad/ and select "Get LibKey Nomad Now"
Select your Browser. Chose Edge for Advocate Health devices.
Select “Get” to download, then select “Add extension.”
Search for and select “Advocate Health – Midwest Library.”

Leverage Local Public Library Subscriptions with the Libby App

What is Libby?
Libby is a free app which allows you to borrow electronic content from your public library. For example, if your public library subscribes to The Economist, you can download the current issue to your smartphone and sign up for alerts to new issues. Content is controlled by your public library. See link for details or visit your public library website.

Wisconsin-Based Users: Badgerlink

BadgerLink
Provides databases variety of topics to Wisconsin residents with some full text articles. Databases include EBSCO Business Resources, Academic Search Premier and US Newstream. US Newstream provides full text newspapers The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune among others.
more...less...
To access, go to the Login area in the upper right corner of the site, enter Wisconsin and then enter your Zip Code. Or register with your public library card.

City of Chicago Users: Chicago Public Library eCard

Apply for Chicago Public Library Card Online
City of Chicago residents can apply online for an electronic card to use the Chicago Public Library's electronic resources.