Library: Rehabilitation (PT, OT, SLP): Stroke Resources

Explore Resources

Featured eBooks:

Stroke: Pathophysiology, Diagnosis and Management by James C. Grotta, Gregory W. Albers, et al The 7th Edition covers every aspect of this fast-moving field, and is an ideal resource for stroke specialists, general neurologists, and other medical professionals with an interest in stroke.
Publication Date: 2021
Ischemic Stroke Therapeutics by Bruce Ovbiagele, Anthony S. Kim This second edition updates established evidence for contemporary management of ischemic stroke. Therapeutics for acute management, secondary prevention, recovery, rehabilitation, asymptomatic cerebral ischemia, special populations, and implementation of stroke systems of care are all discussed. New chapter topics include neuroprotectants, treatment of the oldest old, brain-computer interfaces, disparities, and the global burden.
Publication Date: 2024
Stroke Nursing Certification Review by Kathy Morrison This comprehensive study aid includes concise review content as well as updated Q&A. Chapters feature clinical pearls and tips to help you prepare for exam day. Case studies facilitate knowledge application and provide various examples of common stroke patient situations across the continuum of care. Each chapter covers everything you need to know to pass the exam and includes end-of-chapter questions to check your knowledge.
Publication Date: 2023
Clinical Pathways in Stroke Rehabilitation by Thomas Platz The book is invaluable for all neurorehabilitation team members, clinicians, nurses, and therapists in neurology, physical medicine and rehabilitation, and related fields. It is a World Federation for NeuroRehabilitation (WFNR) educational initiative, bridging the gap between the rapidly expanding clinical research in stroke rehabilitation and clinical practice across societies and continents.
Publication Date: 2021

View the Library's collection of stroke journals, or use the search box below to lookup a specific journal title or subject category.

Websites for health professionals:

American Stroke Association Tools for stroke prevention, treatment and recovery, all in one place. Help yourself – and your patients.
CDC Quick Maps of Heart Disease, Stroke, and Social Determinants of Health View and download maps on heart disease and stroke showing national data, health care costs, and social determinants of health data.
NINDS- National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke NINDS conducts stroke research at its laboratories and clinics at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and through grants to major medical institutions across the country.

Stroke rehabilitation resources:

Anatomy.tv This link opens in a new window A web-based collection of digital images and anatomical models of the body. Users can move models in various directions, add or remove layers of body structures, associate various imaging (MRIs, CT scans, cadaver, etc.) to the anatomical models, view functional anatomy animations of muscle motion, label or highlight body parts, and download or save images for use in presentations.

Evidence-Based Review of Stroke Rehabilitation In-depth reviews of over 4,500 studies and a clinician's handbook learning resource.
Stroke Engine Interventions and assessment tools used in stroke rehabilitation from the Canadian Partnership for Stroke Recovery.

Rehabilitation Measures Database This link opens in a new window Essential information on over 500 outcomes measures for physical therapy and rehabilitation. Find info on the instrument, the populations it can be used for, data on validity and reliability, and a bibliography.
Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro) This link opens in a new window Find randomized controlled trials, systematic reviews and evidence-based clinical practice guidelines for physical therapy practice. Clinical trials are independently assessed for quality.
speechBITE This link opens in a new window Speech pathologists can gain faster access to relevant research for clinical decision-making. Find ratings of methodological quality for randomized and non-randomized controlled trials, plus citations for systematic reviews, single-case experimental designs, case series and clinical practice guidelines.

Freely available online resources for your stroke patients:

American Stroke Association - Stroke Symptoms and Warning Signs By learning and sharing the F.A.S.T. warning signs, you just might save a life from stroke.
American Stroke Association - Life After Stroke There is life—and hope—after a stroke. With time, new routines will become second nature. Rehabilitation can build strength, capability and confidence. Download the guide which is available in English and Spanish
MedlinePlus: Resources on Stroke Signs and Treatment MedlinePlus links to health information from the National Institutes of Health and other federal government agencies. MedlinePlus also links to health information from non-government Web sites. Topics include stroke signs, diagnosis, treatments and prevention.

Additional resources for patient education materials can be found in our Patient Health Information guide.